Gatineau Declaration

Sign the declaration and acknowledge our shared responsibility to preserve the biodiversity, the quality of our water and the well-being of communities within the Ottawa River Watershed.

The Gatineau Declaration – Why sign?

The Ottawa River is too important to just leave its future up to chance. That is why Ottawa Riverkeeper is leading the charge to bring our governments together to collaborate and share responsibility for the long-term health and future of our important and magnificent river.
Currently there is no management plan, no conservation strategy and no collaborative action plan in place for the Ottawa River, our Capital River!

On May 29, in Gatineau Quebec, we tabled a declaration for river protection at the 2015 Ottawa River Summit. The Gatineau Declaration was co-created by the Ottawa River Summit Advisory Committee, representing various sectors of society, including municipal governments, First Nations, businesses, provincial and federal agencies and not-for-profit organizations. The declaration is a summary of why the river is important and lays out a unified vision of how we can work together to achieve common objectives.
Please help us and sign the declaration!

We need to show our federal and provincial agencies that there is wide-spread public support to implement key actions as outlined in the Gatineau Declaration:

  1. Acknowledge and celebrate the cultural, heritage, and natural values within the Ottawa River Watershed;
  2. Create new forums, or adapt existing ones, for integrating and sharing information, research and knowledge about the health of the Ottawa River Watershed, the challenges we face, and potential solutions or best management practices relevant to protecting freshwater ecosystems;
  3. Agree on a set of indicators (such as water quality, biodiversity, shoreline integrity, etc.) to monitor and report on river health; and
  4. Recognise people, businesses, organizations, and communities who are leading change in our watershed or are implementing projects that foster innovation and promote sustainable river management.

The more signatures we have, the stronger our voice becomes. Ottawa Riverkeeper will be meeting with federal and provincial leaders, asking them to take shared responsibility to protect and restore our river. We need to show them that thousands of people within our watershed support this initiative.

Our short term goal is to form a Watershed Council to represent diverse interests within the watershed and make recommendations to the regulatory bodies within the watershed. Our long term goal is a healthy Ottawa River that provides swimmable, drinkable, and fishable water for current and future generations, and is an inspiring model to the world.

Read the Gatineau Declaration (Open PDF)


Businesses, organizations and government entities

  • MRC de Pontiac,
    Raymond Durocher
  • Le Brasse-Camarade,
    Frédéric Joly
  • Fish Ecology and Conservation Physiology Laboratory at Carleton University,
    Steven Cooke
  • LUSH,
    Thivekha Thirukumaran
  • Conseil du bassin versant de la région de Vaudreuil-Soulanges (COBAVER-VS),
    Julie Cyr
    Denise Cloutier
  • Ville de Gatineau,
    Sylvie Goneau
  • Gatineau,
    Jean-François LeBlanc
  • Watershed Sales,
    John Foster
  • Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada,
    Véronique Breton
  • Becky Mason Canoeist,
    Becky Mason
  • Qwick Wick,
    Frank Wall
  • Ottawa Fly Fishing Society,
    Grant Hopkins
  • Canadian Canoe Museum,
    David Taylor
  • Canadian Canoe Museum,
    Jess Fleury
  • Tourisme Outouais,
    Anne Chardon
  • Scouts Canada,
    Matt Doody
  • Girl Guides,
    Peggy Vink
  • Scouting,
    Susan Lepine
  • Scouting,
    Gilbert Lepine
  • Muskrat Watershed Council,
    Julie Truelove
  • FOG,
    Michael Cooper
  • Investors Group,
    Sathya Anand
  • Say No to Palm Oil,
    Molly O'Ray
  • Nova Sylva inc.,
    Eric Forget
  • Ontario Rivers Alliance,
    Linda Heron
  • Municipalité de Grenville-sur-la-Rouge,
    John Saywell
  • Being a Bird in North America, BABINA,,
    Robert Alvo
  • Municipality of Chelsea,
    Caryl Green
    Geneviève Gallerand
  • Municipalité de Duhamel,
    David Pharand
  • Ville de Gatineau,
    Maxime Pedneaud-Jobin
  • MRC Papineau,
    Paulette Lalande
  • MRC Témiscamingue,
    Arnaud Warolin
  • Brookfield Renewable,
    Normand Perreault
  • ABV des 7,
    Nicole DesRoches
  • Municipalité de Kipawa,
    Norm Young
    Janie Larivière
  • Municipalité de Ville-Marie,
    Bernard Flebus
  • City of Ottawa,
    Jim Watson
  • Rideau Valley Conservation Authority,
    Sommer Casgrain-Robertson
  • South Nation Conservation,
    Doug Thompson
  • Mississippi Valley Conservation Authority,
    Paul Lehman
  • OBVT Organisme de basin versant du Témiscamingue,
    Pierre Rivard
  • Abrinord (Organisme de bassin versant de la rivière du Nord),
    Isabelle Marcoux
  • Tourisme Outaouais,
    Mona Francoeur
  • Comets unis de Prescott et Russell,
    Jeanne Charlebois
  • St. Lawrence global observatory,
    Claude Tremblay
  • Au feel de l'eau,
    Sylvie Lyonnais
  • St. Lawrence National Institute of Ecotoxicology,
    Pierre Beland
  • Greenspace Alliance of Canada's Capital,
    Erwin Dreessen
  • St. Lawrence River Institute of Environmental Sciences,
    Jeff Ridal
  • Ottawa-Carleton Wildlife Centre,
    Donna DuBreuil
  • Ottawa River Photography,
    Jane Johnson
  • Paul Dewar MP,
    Paul Dewar
  • Member "Friends of the Gatineau River/Amis de rivière Gatineau",
    Neil Faulkner
  • Community Foundation of Ottawa,
    Iona Green
  • Ottawa RIver Institute,
    Ole Hendrickson
  • Fondation de Gaspé Beaubien,
    Dominique Monchamp
  • Ottawa Riverkeeper,
    Meredith Brown